Breaking: U.S. Department of Labor’s OSHA Extends Compliance Date for Electronically Submitting Injury, Illness Reports

BMJ Stone
Echelon Masonry
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
Left to right, David Jason Miller, Ryan Stell, Michael (Tony) Washington; Doug Burton, and Jeff Tiller, PE
Left to right, David Jason Miller, Ryan Stell, Michael (Tony) Washington; Doug Burton, and Jeff Tiller, PE
May 9, 2013 5:00 PM CDT

ASU Sigmon Design Competition 2013

Stell and Washington named winners


Seniors Ryan Stell, second from left, and Michael (Tony) Washington, third from left, are the winners of the second annual Appalachian State University NCMCA Sigmon Memorial Design Competition held in Boone in March. Stell and Washington will share a semester's tuition as their prize.

Twelve teams participated in the competition to design and model a hypothetical masonry in-fill building section as a graded assignment in the ASU Senior Architectural Design Studio II class.

Pictured above from left to right, David Jason Miller, ASU Assistant Professor of Building Science; Stell and Washington; Past NCMCA President Doug Burton, Chairman of the Sigmon Design Competition, who served as judge for the completion; and Jeff Tiller, PE, Chairman, ASU Department of Technology and Environmental Design.

ASU Professor Lee Ball and former architecture student Miles Smith joined Burton in judging the projects.

The Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Design Competition, now at ASU and at NC State University, is named in memory of brothers Dwyane and David Sigmon, and Dwayne’s son Randy.

About the Author

Lynn Nash is the Executive Vice President for the North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association.


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“The MCAA is valuable in every aspect of the masonry industry today.”

John Ambach
Ambach Masonry Construction, Inc.
MCAA member since 1999

Learn More