BMJ Stone
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
April 3, 2001 8:00 AM CDT

Nominations for the Outstanding Masters and Ph.D. Theses on Masonry being Accepted


The Masonry Society (TMS) is soliciting nominations for the best Masters and Ph.D. theses on a masonry topic. Masters theses will be considered that were submitted for degree requirements between July 1, 2000 and June 30, 2001. Ph.D. theses will be considered that were submitted between July 1, 1998 and June 30, 2001. Ph.D. theses submitted in past years are still eligible and will be automatically considered without the need for resubmission. Three copies of each theses should be submitted to the TMS office (3970 Broadway, Suite 201-D, Boulder, CO 80304-1135) no later than July 1, 2001. Awards will be presented at the TMS Annual Meeting in October of 2001 in St. Louis, MO.

In 2000, student thesis award winners were:

Francisco Javier Crisafulli, Ph.D.
"Seismic Behavior of Reinforced Concrete Structures with Masonry Infills" at University of Canterbury under direction of Professors Athol J. Carr and Robert Park.

Master's Thesis: Ben Roberts
"Transverse Behavior of Masonry Arch Bridges" at Pennsylvania State University under the direction of Professor Thomas Boothby.

Congratulations to both winners.

About the Author

Phillip Samblanet is a professional engineer, and the Executive Director of The Masonry Society. He served as the secretary for the MSJC Inspection Task Group.


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“Through the MCAA’s webinars we’re able to keep current in our industry.”

Josh Cronholm
Ammex Masonry, Inc.
MCAA member since 2006

Learn More