BMJ Stone
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
January 30, 2006 7:40 AM CST

NAWIC Invites Nominations for Crystal Vision Awards


The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) is accepting nominations for its 12th annual Crystal Vision and Crystal Achievement Awards. The Crystal Vision Awards program recognizes individuals for their outstanding achievements in advancing the role of women in the construction industry. Winners will be recognized at the Association's 51st Annual Meeting and Convention, Sept. 6-9, 2006, in Kansas City. The Crystal Vision Award recognizes a nonmember of NAWIC, while the Crystal Achievement Award recognizes a member.

"This award identifies and honors the men and women who see beyond the invisible barriers that impede the progress of women, especially in nontraditional fields," said Susan Levy, founder of the Crystal Vision Award and past NAWIC national president.

Nominees for the Crystal Vision Awards may represent any of the various construction fields and include contractors, architects, engineers, suppliers, labor organizers, and trade association and government personnel.

Nominees must meet at least three or more of the following criteria:

  • Be in a position of authority to influence and/or make decisions beneficial to women in the construction industry.
  • Empower women in construction through company policy, legislation or organizational structure.
  • Actively promote the inclusion and/or advancement of women in construction.
  • Demonstrate leadership on behalf of women in construction.
  • Break barriers with a "first" for women in construction.
  • Act as a role model and/or mentor for women.

Award winners receive a complimentary trip to Kansas City, Mo., to accept their awards during the Crystal Vision Awards Gala held in their honor.

An online information guide and application is available at Completed applications should be mailed to: NAWIC, Attn: Crystal Vision Awards, 327 S. Adams St., Fort Worth, Texas 76104-1002. The NAWIC office must receive completed applications on or before Feb. 28, 2006.

Companies and organizations can support the importance of recognizing excellence in the construction industry by sponsoring the 2006 Crystal Vision Awards program. To learn more about becoming a sponsor, please contact the NAWIC office for more details.

Founded in 1955, NAWIC is an international association serving approximately 5,500 members in 179 chapters across the United States. For more information, please contact Kara Roberson, communications director, at (817) 877-5551.

About the Author

Masonry, the official publication of the Mason Contractors Association of America, covers every aspect of the mason contractor profession - equipment and techniques, building codes and standards, business planning, promoting your business, legal issues and more. Read or subscribe to Masonry magazine at


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“With the MCAA as our guiding light, we will make a difference.”

Brandon Hartsell
Gates Construction Company, Inc.
MCAA member since 1994

Learn More