BMJ Stone
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
June 28, 2006 7:44 AM CDT

Students Presented Scholarships for Designs


Eighteen students from the University of Kentucky School of Architecture were presented scholarships for their designs in the Kentuckiana Masonry Institute (KMI)-University of Kentucky (UK) College of Design annual masonry design competition and scholarship program.

This year's competition was sponsored by both the James O. Bethel Memorial Fund and KMI, and was held in honor of the late architect, James O. Bethel, of Henderson, Ky.

Students were instructed to design buildings for the tennis complex to complete the downtown riverfront master plan in Henderson as envisioned by the Bethel. The city of Henderson, in cooperation with the Henderson Tennis Club, will have final input on potential design concepts utilized to upgrade the existing tennis facility.

First place winners in the competition were Sarah Wilson, Ali Baker, David Bruster, Sean Cottengim and Shelly Rogers. Second place winners were Christina Calland, Amanda Henry, Joy Leonard, John Mason, Robert Nack, Daniel Ruberg, Caleb Sears, Andrew Ulinski, Samantha Wenger, William Zembrodt, Paul Masterson and Lisa Douglas. The third place winner was Jillian Tillery.

Students who received an honorable mention were Neal Esser, Eric Rowling, Brandon Harvey, David Stout, Teddi Hibberd, Perer Fisher and Laurn Snyder.

KMI is a trade association for the promotion of masonry in Kentucky and southern Indiana.

About the Author

Kentuckiana Masonry Institute (KMI) is a non-profit trade association working to promote the masonry industry in Kentucky and southern Indiana. Learn more at


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“The MCAA is valuable in every aspect of the masonry industry today.”

John Ambach
Ambach Masonry Construction, Inc.
MCAA member since 1999

Learn More