BMJ Stone
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Southwest Scaffolding
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
February 2, 2011 3:00 PM CST

J. Gregg Borchelt Named Honorary Member of TMS

Borchelt recognized for significant contributions to the masonry industry


To be recognized at TMS Annual Meeting in San Antonio Via a closed ballot this winter, The Masonry Society’s Board of Directors approved bestowing Honorary Membership status on J. Gregg Borchelt, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Brick industry Association, for his significant and continued contributions to both the Society and to the masonry industry as a whole. Honorary Membership is the highest award that TMS can bestow on a member and it recognizes lifetime contributions to the advancement of knowledge on masonry.

Borchelt joins a very small and impressive group of TMS’s 13 other Honorary Members:

James E. Amrhein (1997)
Stuart R. Beavers (2004)
David T. Biggs (2008)
Russell H. Brown (2006)
Walter L. Dickey (1995)
Clayford T. Grimm (1997)
George C. Hanson (1995)
Arnold H. Hendry (1999)
John H. Matthys (2004)
Clarence B. Monk, Jr. (1995)
James L. Noland (1995)
Donald A. Wakefield (1997)
H.W.H. West (1999)

Borchelt, P.E., FASTM, FCSI, FTMS and now HTMS, is one of the foremost experts on masonry, especially related to clay masonry, and his list of accomplishments is impressive and inspiring. He has been a valued contributor in masonry organizations, and his service at ASTM, CSI, TMS and other organizations is exemplary.

Within TMS, Mr. Borchelt is a Founding Member, and through TMS’s history has served in nearly every role including President (1981-1983), Member of the Board of Directors, Secretary, Treasurer, Chairman of the Technical Activities Committee, Secretary of the Masonry Standards Joint Committee and member of numerous other TMS Committees. In these roles he has led TMS, volunteered when needed, and contributed his knowledge and expertise. For this unparalleled and continued service, he was presented TMS’s President’s Award in 1993, and was made a Fellow Member of the Society in 2005.

Outside of TMS, Borchelt’s accomplishment and service are even more significant. Borchelt has attended and contributed to nearly every major masonry conference can symposium in the last 30 years - serving on oversight committees, providing technical papers, serving as a reviewer, and offering his help and expertise where needed. He has been a member of ASTM since 1974, served as Committee Chairman of ASTM C15 from 1983 to 1989 and served on numerous ASTM Subcommittee and Task Groups. He has served BIA and the masonry industry in numerous other keys roles as well, including serving as a critical member and Board member of the Building Seismic Safety Council. In all of these forums, Borchelt has contributed greatly, offering his professionalism and knowledge while serving as a mentor and an example.

TMS will formally recognize Gregg Borchelt as their newest Honorary Member at the TMS Annual Meeting in San Antonio during the Awards Lunch Ceremony on Saturday, November 12, 2011. Please plan to be there to congratulate him.

About the Author

The Masonry Society is an international gathering of people interested in the art and science of masonry whose mission is to advance the knowledge of masonry. To learn more about who we are, what we do, and how you can be involved, visit


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“The MCAA has my back on things I could not possibly be doing by myself.”

Mark Kemp
Superior Masonry Builders, Inc.
MCAA member since 1959

Learn More