BMJ Stone
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Southwest Scaffolding
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
December 3, 2011 8:00 AM CST

ACI student competition winners announced

2011 Pervious Concrete Cylinder Competition winners


The American Concrete Institute (ACI) announced the winners of its 2011 Student Pervious Concrete Cylinder Competition. This competition also is sponsored by the Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems (CMPBS) and the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). The competition took place at the ACI Fall 2011 Convention last month.

In this competition, teams are challenged to apply sustainability concepts and to use their knowledge of concrete mixture design by producing pervious concrete that balances permeability and splitting tensile strength. Teams are challenged additionally to develop a mixture design that develops the highest load-to-cost ratio. A report that documents the team’s cylinder production process and preliminary results also is scored.

Cylinder Performance Category: First Place – University of Florida

Cylinder Performance Category: First Place – University of Florida

Cylinder Performance Category

First Place – University of Florida: Ashlie Kerr and Ryan Catarelli; Advisor: Dr. Christopher Ferraro

Second Place – Missouri University of Science and Technology: Patrick Graves, Ethan Shackelford, Mike Wells, Dillon Corr, and Greg Hickey; Advisor: Lesley Sneed

Third Place – Metropolitan University—Campus Azcapotzalco, Mexico City: Alfredo Landaverde Garcia, Ivan Pascual Devesa, and Leonardo Sanchez Deheza; Advisor: Francisco Gonzalez Diaz

Load-to-Cost Ratio Category: First Place – University of Minnesota Duluth
Load-to-Cost Ratio Category: First Place – University of Minnesota Duluth

Load-to-Cost Ratio Category

First Place – University of Minnesota Duluth: Andrew Venaas, Kyle Berg, Philip Koktan, and Benjamin Thiesse; Advisor: Dr. Eshan Dave

Second Place – Texas State University: Chase David, Daniel Calhoun, and Seth Eggert; Advisor: Christian Gaedicke, PhD, PE

Third Place- North Carolina State Team: Heath Kent, Brian Beaver, Michael Lopez, Travis Wetteroff, and Baxter Mclean; Advisor: Roberto Nunez

The first-, second- and third-place teams in each category receive cash awards of $300, $200 and $100, respectively.

For more information on ACI’s Student Pervious Concrete Cylinder Competition, visit

About the Author

Founded in 1904 and headquartered in Farmington Hills, Mich., U.S.A., members of the American Concrete Institute advance concrete knowledge by producing consensus, concrete-related codes, specifications, guides and reports; creating and administering certification programs that support individuals in the concrete industry; delivering seminars and distance learning opportunities; publishing Concrete International magazine; and producing two peer-reviewed technical journals. For additional information, visit


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“The MCAA is a great place to access knowledge from industry professionals.”

Kurt Baum
Otto Baum Company, Inc.
MCAA member since 1998

Learn More