EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Husqvarna Construction Products N.A.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Southwest Scaffolding
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
Lakewood Cemetery Garden Mausoleum
Lakewood Cemetery Garden Mausoleum
June 23, 2013 8:00 AM CDT

2013 MC&MCA Excellence Awards Winners

Thirteen projects awarded


Forty seven projects were entered in this year’s Minnesota Concrete and Masonry Contractors (MC&MCA) Excellence Awards contest. A total of thirteen awards were presented by Greg Saterdalen and Tom Miller. The winners were:


Residential and Mixed Use

MPHA Elders Community Center and Memory Care Center
Axel H. Ohman, Inc.


Cobblestone Lake Retail Buildings B and C
Apple Valley
Axel H. Ohman, Inc.

Commercial—Public Use

Lakewood Cemetery Garden Mausoleum
Grazzini Brothers & Company

Commercial—Set Stone

Whole Foods
Northland Concrete & Masonry Company, LLC

Commercial—Cast Stone

Lord of Life Lutheran Church
Maple Grove
Donald R. Frantz Concrete Construction


The Union Depot
St. Paul
American Masonry Restoration


Salem English Lutheran Church and Lyndale United Church of Christ
Axel H. Ohman, Inc.


Phalen Park Stone Arch Bridge
St. Paul
American Masonry Restoration

Outstate Minnesota

Commercial—Set Stone

Deerwood Bank of Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids
Rice Lake Construction Group


Winona County History Center Embattlement Reconstruction
Building Restoration Corporation



Private Residence
St. Paul
Bulach Custom Rock, LLC

Commercial—Innovative & Decorative

Como Regional Park Pool
St. Paul
Bulach Custom Rock, LLC

Commercial—Functional/ Industrial/Structural

St. Cloud Waste Water Treatment Plant
St. Cloud
Knutson Construction

Thanks to the committee’s volunteers who worked so diligently to make the 2013 Awards a great success!

Committee members:
  • Greg Saterdalen, American Artstone (Co-Chair)
  • Tom Miller, Advanced Masonry Corporation (Co-Chair)
  • Heather Grazzini-Sims, Carciofini
  • Shawn Pratt, American Masonry Restoration
  • Barry Blazevic, ADB Construction
  • Cheri Nienkerk, The Brick Lady
  • Bill John, TK Products – Sierra Corporation
  • Jack Tucci, Construction Midwest, Inc.
  • Kirt O’Konek, Stoneworks Architectural Precast
  • Denver O’Brien, North Star Stone & Masonry
  • Tom Kromroy, Advanced Masonry Restoration
  • Dustin Sly, American Masonry Restoration
  • Will Leaf, Cobb Strecker Dunphy & Zimmerman, Inc.
  • Phil Deiss, Rice Lake Construction Group.
Planning for the 2014 Awards will begin this month. There are many opportunities to assist with the Awards program. If you are interested in helping out or would like more information, please contact the MC&MCA office.

About the Author

Renae Rogers is the Project Manager for the Minnesota Concrete and Masonry Contractors Association.


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“The mason contractors involved in the MCAA all work towards the same goals.”

David Veazey
Veazey Enterprises, Inc.
MCAA member since 1965

Learn More