BMJ Stone
EZG Manufacturing
Federated Insurance
Fraco USA, Inc.
Hohmann and Barnard, Inc.
Hydro Mobile, Inc.
iQ Power Tools
Kennison Forest Products, Inc.
Mortar Net Solutions
Non-Stop Scaffolding
Pullman Ermator
Southwest Scaffolding
Tradesmen's Software, Inc.
The Maryland House was the 2015 Best In Class Brick in Architecture Award winner in the Commercial category.
The Maryland House was the 2015 Best In Class Brick in Architecture Award winner in the Commercial category.
March 12, 2016 3:00 PM CST

BIA opens entries for 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards

Final deadline is April 30


The Brick Industry Association (BIA) encourages entries for its 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards through April 30.

BIA’s annual design competition honors outstanding, innovative and sustainable architecture in 10 categories that incorporate clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Entries will be conducted entirely online at, and the winners will be announced in June. Projects will be judged by a jury of peers.

"The annual Brick in Architecture Awards showcase the best clay brick projects in the country,” said Ray Leonhard, BIA president & CEO. "Architects demonstrate fired clay brick's aesthetic flexibility, and as a material made from abundant natural resources, it's a perfect strategy in sustainable design.”

Architectural and design firms may enter their best projects completed since January 1, 2011, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent). These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of the below categories:

  • Commercial
  • Commercial
  • Education – K-12
  • Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)* -Health Care Facilities
  • Municipal / Government
  • Houses of Worship
  • Residential – Single Family
  • Residential – Multi-Family
  • Paving & Landscape Projects
  • Renovation (Additions)** / Restoration (Restoring)
*Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings

**Additions must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building. Restoration must include at least 50% clay brick products, which must be new brick placed in the wall.

As the most prestigious juried competition of its kind, Best in Class winners will receive national recognition through a special Brick in Architecture insert in the December issue of Architect magazine. The insert will include other winners as well as in Brick News Online, and all entrants will be features in BIA’s online Photo Gallery.

For more information, contact .

About the Author

Lorelei Harloe is the Principal at Ascend Communication, LLC.


Related Articles

More Masonry Headlines

“The MCAA is critical to forwarding our cause.”

Danks Burton
Pinnacle Masonry, Inc.
MCAA member since 1997

Learn More